How to create a secure home with Andy Murphy

An interview with Andy Murphy, a home & family security expert, on his home in South Carolina.

Watch or listen to the full Homelife for Extraordinary Impact interview on Spotify, Apple Podcasts, YouTube, and other major platforms.

I am the founder of The Secure Dad. My goal is to help families live safer, happier lives. I'm the author of an Amazon best-selling book on home security and the host of “The Secure Dad Podcast.” I've been married for almost 15 years and a dad for nearly 11.

Andy Murphy

Connect with Andy Murphy on Instagram, Twitter/X, YouTube, and his website.

What are some of the places that have most felt like home for you?

Humble homes that are filled with love. I think of my grandmother's home and my wife's grandparents. Down to earth people who have nothing but love to give.

When home is going really great, what does it look like and feel like? How do you feel?

There's a positive, chill vibe in the house. That doesn't mean that it's quiet, because the laughter is very warming.

What are important daily, weekly, or regular rhythms important for you to keep a great homelife?

I'm a supporter of what I call the Nightly Safety Sweep. This is when you walk your home every night before bed to make sure doors and windows are locked, the alarm is set, and everything is as it should be.

What’s a prized possession of yours or one of your favorite home purchases?

My parents were very kind to keep some of my toys from when I was a kid. So now as an adult I have many of my things that are tied to positive memories and they are now on display in my home. I'm very fortunate to still have my childhood prized possessions.

What's one thing you do or unique hack that helps you in homelife?

By adding exterior lighting to your home you can make your house less of a target for a crime.

Andy is clearly an absolute pro when it comes to home security! Take a listen to the full interview for tips on everything from theft prevention to natural disaster preparedness. Plus, stick around to learn record we both grew up cleaning the house to!

Thanks for the interview, Andy!

Until next time,

– Matt Barrios (LinkedIn, Instagram, & Twitter)

PS: Did you hear about the WFH Boundaries Workshop? Check it for an insight-packed hour to transform your ability to find balance between work & home. Use code NEWSLETTER25 for an extra 25% off!

Reply

or to participate.