A creativity coach's home

How home can help you get in the right headspace for broad impact

An interview with Pia Leichter about her home as a founder & coach in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Watch or listen to the full Homelife for Extraordinary Impact interview on all major podcast platforms and YouTube.

You can also read his written responses below but first…

Pia Leichter is a certified coach, award-winning creative director, and founder of kollektiv studio - a coaching + creativity studio reimagining what’s possible to design better futures.

A recovering nomad, originally hailing from New York City, she's now created roots in Copenhagen, Denmark, one of the happiest places on the planet.

Connect with Pia Leichter on Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, and her website.

What are some of the places that have most felt like home for you?

I’ve moved around most of my life. I went to 8 different schools and lived in 9 countries. I've lived in Brooklyn, Manhattan, San Juan, Montreal, Ottawa, Strasbourg, London, Manama, Colombo, and now Copenhagen, so what I have learned and come to appreciate is that...

Home is wherever I am.

Paint a picture of a home walkthrough for us. You arrive home and what…

I walk into a big open space. The ceilings are high, which give me the feeling of being in an expansive, anything is possible, space.

To the right is the chill-out TV zone with couches and big Moroccan pillows, and further inside I see a couch with two leather chairs, our library-conversation area with my father's painting hanging above the couch.

I've had this piece since I was 3 years old.

It smells like cedar and Palo Santo.

What do you see as the link between your professional expertise and home?

My home is my safe space. It is from here, this place, that I create a safe space for courageous exploration for my amazing creator clients (most of my clients based out of Denmark, spread internationally, and I hold my Zoom meetings from home).

When home is going really great, what does it look like and feel like? How do you feel?

Safe, warm, cozy, calm, comfortable, engaging, intentional.

What are important daily, weekly, or otherwise regular rhythms important for you to keep a great homelife?

Sharing meals with my husband and 2 step kids. Coffee talks and moments of tenderness with my husband. Creating a different work area and lighting to indicate when it's work and play or rest time.

What's one thing you do or unique hack that helps you in homelife?

Creating different lighting for work and rest/play. Infusing my home with scents. Designing each area based on function.

The recorded interview also went many other interesting directions! Thanks again to Pia for the interview!

If you have trouble keeping good boundaries between work & home, then please check out my…

  • Be present at home to the people you love

  • Build an amazing social life out of your home

  • Find more time to reflect & take care of yourself

  • Clear your mind and get mental space from work

  • Show up to your work restored & focused to make things happen

Until next time,

– Matt Barrios

Reply

or to participate.