A grandmother's cherished legacy

Health, heritage, and the home with Thelben Mullett

An interview with Thelben Mullet about her home in Seattle as a pediatrician.

Watch or listen to the full Homelife for Extraordinary Impact interview on all major podcast platforms and YouTube. You can also read some written responses below.

I'm a Black wife, mother, sister, friend and pediatrician. I get to work at my dream job. I've found immense joy in the relationships I'm building with my patients and families. They inspire me everyday. It is an absolute privilege to do what I do.

My sisters (both related and close medical school friends) are the roots that keep me grounded in life. When circumstances arise that make me feel like I'm floating, they help tether me again.

Being a mother is the ultimate high of life, in my opinion. I feel an endless love for this beautiful human my husband and I get to get to know, guide and watch flourish as she grows. It's incredible.

Finally, my husband is my ride or die. He's a constant force of positivity, encouragement and love. He's like my heart personified. I'm so grateful for the richness these relationships and others provide me.

Thelben Mullett

Connect with Thelben Mullett on Instagram and Twitter.

What are some of the places that have most felt like home for you?

Seattle definitely feels most like home. I've lived here now for a decade. My entire professional life after medical school has been between here and AK.

I also lived in Paris, FR for a few months with my aunt while studying abroad while in college. I'd also say those months were some of the most transformative of my life. Paris felt like home.

When home is going really great, what does it look like and feel like? How do you feel?

Hmm, it feels like sunshine?? Haha! That's significant given I live in rainy Seattle and now we've transitioned to that 3-4 months out of the year where the sun shines everyday, the temps hit 80+ degrees and the sun sets at 10 pm.

It looks like being in sync with my husband, cooking together and sitting down to enjoy each other's conversation. It feels like I have the bandwidth to play and be truly present with my daughter. It's laughter and banter out on the front porch of our Craftsman.

It's hanging out at the lake by our home for picnics, floats, and swims. Or, spending weekends out on the San Juan islands unplugged with friends.

Lastly, it's the smile of contentment between my husband and I before closing our eyes for bed.

What are important daily, weekly, or otherwise regular rhythms important for you to keep a great homelife?

Finding ways of connecting to myself; i.e., meditation, drinking decaf tea, walks, listening to music and singing. Play...ahh finding time for play like random dancing with my husband, making weird noises with my daughter, and joking around. And, date nights. We recently picked those back up and whoa, the difference is soooo striking when you haven't had one in a while. Whew!

What’s a prized possession of yours or one of your favorite home purchases?

My husband had a gorgeous painting of my late grandmother commissioned for me for one of our wedding anniversaries. He used an old photo of her and the artist made it look like she was almost made out of flowers—like my garden. She was the matriarch of my family and a pivotal influence on my character, confidence, and outlook.

I would not be the person that I am without her example, love, and encouragement. This painting is probably one of my most prized possessions.

What's one thing you do or unique hack that helps you in homelife?

Journaling and daily gratitude exercise—actually learned this from Microsoft CEO, Satya Nadella, who was a guest on my favorite podcast “Hello Monday.” Every morning when my feet touch the floor, I reflect on at least one thing that I'm grateful for. It helps to set intention for my day. Today, I was grateful for time nursing my little one before heading to work.

This was an especially fun and connecting interview since Thelben’s my sister-in-law. Love and gratitude for the interview, Thelben!

Until next time,

– Matt Barrios (LinkedIn, Instagram, Twitter)

Reply

or to participate.