A home of radical self-accepetance

With Jessica Lacy

An interview with Jessica Lacy about her home in Southern California.

Watch or listen to the full Homelife for Extraordinary Impact interview on all major podcast platforms and YouTube. Or you can read her written responses below!

Jessica Lacy embraces slow living while loving a good productive day. She's a spiritual director, life coach, website designer and homemaker. She was surprised at the joy it has been to infuse her home with beauty and peace.

She's crazy about her husband of five years and lives with him in Long Beach, California. She's currently finishing her MA in theology and dreams of renovating an RV and taking work and home on the road once her husband retires.

Connect with Jessica on her website.

What are some of the places that have most felt like home for you?

Colorado where I grew up—the mountains and aspen trees. Being with my husband feels like home. Starting to feel at home in San Francisco.

Paint a picture of a home walkthrough for us. You arrive home and what…

I walk in to be greeted by my loving white boxer. After making sure she's adequately acknowledged, I take my shoes off at the door and glance up to see a large painting of aspen trees over a welcoming, light sand colored sectional couch that beckons "come sit on me everyone." I can see my husband cooking in the kitchen beyond a large rustic dinner table and love how the open concept space keeps us connected even when we aren't side by side. Shortly after our friends arrive and and sit on the bar stools at the kitchen counter watching us cook, drinking craft beer and laughing about how good and hard life can be.

What do you see as the link between your professional expertise and home?

My home is an expression of who I am and decorate it and keep it to be a place of nurture and beauty for myself and others. I also work from home so need my workspace to be functional and support productivity.

When home is going really great, what does it look like and feel like? How do you feel?

It looks like cuddling on the couch with my husband or sitting across from each other playing cribbage. It looks like freshly swept and mopped floors free from dog hair and grime. It looks like healthy meals set on the table and candlelight to accompany them. It looks like lounging and laughing with our adult children in the living room.

What are important daily, weekly, or otherwise regular rhythms important for you to keep a great homelife?

"Marital bliss" time- every Saturday morning my husband and I have a date. We sleep in, make love if we want, drink coffee and just hang out and talk for hours. I have a time of stillness, self-reflection and prayer every morning. Getting a king size bed is helping us sleep better. We go to bed together every night. I usually meal plan and shop weekly which helps us eat well and have a plan. Loren and I both do dishes and keep things clean.

What's one thing you do or unique hack that helps you in homelife?

Margin. I leave so much space in my day to allow me to connect with myself, God, my husband and my friends. Exercising consistently helps give me energy and helps me bring positivity into my home. Also, not having too much stuff and having a smaller space keeps things simpler to manage.

The recorded interview also went many other interesting directions! Thanks again to Jessica for the interview!

Until next time,

– Matt Barrios

Reply

or to participate.