An intuitive French mindset designs a homelife

An interview with Ludovic Delmas

An interview with Ludovic Delmas about his home in Seattle, Washington.

Watch or listen to the full Homelife for Extraordinary Impact interview on all major podcast platforms and YouTube.

You can also read her written responses below.

I’m the Co-founder at Kickass UX where we bring the creative community together through UX education.

I live in Seattle, and I’m originally from France. I moved to the USA about seven years ago. I wish that the crazy fast Concorde plane was still a thing so that I could visit family more often!

Ludovic Delmas

Connect with Ludovic on LinkedIn and his website.

What are some of the places that have most felt like home for you?

I feel at home in France more intimately and personally, while I feel at home in the USA from an entrepreneurial and creative standpoint.

Paint a picture of a home walkthrough for us. You arrive home and what…

You’re greeted with a view of the Olympic mountains and the Seattle towers far in the distance—all framed by a vibrant red Japanese maple and a beautiful pine tree. It feels like we live in the trees. Also, sunsets are pretty stunning here. The view and openness are what make this place truly unique.

Inside, the decor is very natural and earthy looking. We’re big fans of walnut furniture, it has a very deep color. And we also love to have strong pops of vibrant color—in small amounts. It truly wakes up a space. Another things that we couldn’t live without are plants; they have such a calming effect.

What do you see as the link between your professional expertise and home?

Our homes reflect our state of mind. So, for example, when my place is a little messy, it’s because I’m stressed. And when I feel relaxed, my home is uncluttered and open.

A home is like a person. It’s a constant work in progress; it keeps on evolving.

When home is going really great, what does it look like and feel like? How do you feel?

To me, my home is going great when it flows. When every object has truly found its place, it feels intentional.

Creating a space that flows is an art; when it happens, it feels wonderful.

It requires stepping back and connecting with your space just like we would with a person. Seeing what works and what doesn’t so that everything feels just right.

I work from home, and last year I remember feeling like sitting down all day to work on my computer was draining. Not necessarily because of the computer itself, but because it meant I had to sit down all day.

So I got a standing desk, which changed my relationship with work. Things felt more strategic. I have more energy knowing that I can sit or stand—instead of losing mental energy knowing that I’m stuck sitting all day.

When I made these intentional changes in my space, my home life was dramatically improved.

All it takes is to take a step back and reflect.

What are important daily, weekly, or otherwise regular rhythms important for you to keep a great homelife?

I used to have a much stricter approach to planning my day and week.

But over time, I found that it’s super artificial.

You know, these books that tell you that if you don’t wake up at 4AM and do these 30 things before 9AM that you’re basically a loser? These might seem appealing, but it’s just a way to control life in the most terrible way possible.

Times in my life when I had a strict regimen, things got stale fast. You’re just a robot who has to do what’s on its calendar. Failing to do so instantly makes you a bad person.

There is no room for spontaneity and for checking in with myself.

So at this stage of my life, I only pay attention to my internal rhythm.

I do my best to identify places, people, activities, ideas, and moments that steal energy from me. And I replace them with ones that give me energy.

Checking in with myself and my rhythm is so important to keeping a great home life. It’s the difference between having vitality and being tired all the time.

It’s all in us; we just have to listen to ourselves.

What's one thing you do or unique hack that helps you in homelife?

Going out and going on a walk is such a great way to take a step back and get back home with a fresh outlook on things.

The recorded interview went into a surprising conversation on the importance of intuition at home. So fascinating. I’m still thinking about it! Thanks again to Ludovic for the interview!

If you have trouble keeping good boundaries between work & home, then please check out my…

  • Be present at home to the people you love

  • Build an amazing social life out of your home

  • Find more time to reflect & take care of yourself

  • Clear your mind and get mental space from work

  • Show up to your work restored & focused to make things happen

Until next time,

– Matt Barrios

Reply

or to participate.